Bama's Gilberry Up for Award
Bama Soph up for Defensive End of the Year Award
Bama Soph up for Defensive End of the Year Award

Posted Jul 8, 2005

University of Alabama sophomore defensive end Wallace Gilberry (Bay Minette) has been named to the 2005 Ted Hendricks Watch List for the nation’s top defensive end in college football, according to an announcement made by the Hendricks Foundation on Friday.

Wallace Gilberry played in every game as a redshirt freshman and posted some eye-popping stats on the defensive line.

He led the Crimson Tide with 13 tackles behind the line of scrimmage (-50 yards) last season, which tied for the eighth-best single-season mark in Bama annals.

He played in all 12 games and recorded 28 tackles, including 6 1/2 sacks (-44) and six TFLs (-6). He also had seven quarterback pressures, two forced fumbles and two fumble recoveries. He had five tackles against Mississippi State and 2.5 sacks for 17 yards. He had three tackles for loss in back-to-back games against Mississippi State and LSU.

Gilberry logged 237 snaps on the defensive line as a redshirt freshman last season.

Past winners of the Ted Hendricks Award include Arizona State defensive end Terrell Suggs (2002-03 NFL Rookie of the Year) and Georgia’s David Pollack, a two-time winner in 2003 and 2004.

The Hendricks Award is based on a student-athlete’s on field performance, leadership abilities and contributions to school and community.

This award is named in honor of University of Miami three-time All-American and NFL Hall of Famer Ted Hendricks. The Hendricks Foundation provides assistance to local and national charities through awards, grants and scholarship programs aimed at health, educational and recreational programs for youth and seniors.

Gilberry is one of seven Alabama players to be named to a preseason watch list this summer. The composite list of UA players is listed below.

2005 Alabama Football Preseason Watch List

Chuck Bednarik Award (Outstanding Defensive Player): Roman Harper and DeMeco Ryans
Ted Hendricks Award (Top Defensive End): Wallace Gilberry
Bronco Nagurski Trophy (Defensive Player of Year): Roman Harper and DeMeco Ryans
Maxwell Award (College Football Player of the Year): Brodie Croyle
Outland Trophy (Top Interior Lineman): JB Closner
Jim Thorpe Award (Top Defensive Back): Roman Harper and Charlie Peprah
Ronnie Lott Trophy (Defensive Impact Player of Year): DeMeco Ryans

Related Stories
Terrell Suggs acquitted in felony assault trial
 -by  Jun 29, 2005
Jury begins deliberations in Suggs trial
 -by  Jun 28, 2005
No Lake Time
 -by  Jul 19, 2005

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook and a full year of 'BAMA Magazine with an Annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
DE Wallace Gilberry (profile)
OLB Terrell Suggs (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Alabama
Football > Arizona State > Alumni
Football > Baldwin County HS > Alumni
Football > Hamilton HS > Alumni
[View My HotList]