McCarron Earns Heisman Invite
AJ McCarron
AJ McCarron

Posted Dec 10, 2013

Alabama senior quarterback AJ McCarron is one of six finalists for the 2013 Heisman Memorial Trophy, which was announced Monday evening on ESPN's SportsCenter.

Alabama quarterback A.J. McCarron will be joined by Jordan Lynch (Northern Illinois), Johnny Manziel (Texas A&M), Tre Mason (Auburn), Andre Williams (Boston College) and Jameis Winston (Florida State) in New York City on Saturday as finalists. The 79th Heisman Trophy will be presented at the Nokia Theatre in New York City on Saturday, December 14. The event will be broadcast live by ESPN from 7-8 p.m. (CT).

"It is a tremendous honor to be selected as a finalist for the Heisman Trophy," McCarron said following the announcement on Monday evening. "This will be my first trip to New York City, and I can’t put into words how much it means to me. I am truly privileged to have the opportunity to represent our team at the Heisman ceremony. None of this would be possible without my coaches and teammates. The offensive line, wide receivers, running backs and tight ends have done an unbelievable job all season and our coaches always put us in a position to be successful."

McCarron is the third Alabama player to be invited to New York for the Heisman presentation since 2009. Before that David Palmer (1993) and Jay Barker (1994) went in back-to-back seasons. Mark Ingram became the Crimson Tide’s first Heisman winner in 2009 and Trent Richardson was a finalist in 2011.

McCarron, who won the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award, has been part of as many national championship teams (3) as career losses with a 36-3 record as Alabama’s quarterback, including two as the starting quarterback. McCarron also has seven career victories against top 10 teams.

He is completing 67.6 percent of his passes (207-305) this year for 2,676 yards, 26 touchdowns and five interceptions in 2013 while ranking eighth nationally in passing efficiency (165.9) and 14th in completion percentage.

Ingram is the first and only winner, but the Crimson Tide has had 18 players have finish in the top 10 since the award's inception in 1935. Richardson was third in 2011, while Palmer also finished third in the balloting in 1993. Lee Roy Jordan (1962) and Johnny Musso (1971) finished fourth, while Joe Kilgrow (1937), Harry Gilmer (1945 and 1947), Pat Trammell (1961), Terry Davis (1971) and Barker (1994) all finished fifth.

McCarron is also a finalist for the Maxwell Award, the Davey O’Brien Award, the Manning Award, the Senior CLASS Award and the Walter Camp Player of the Year.

Related Stories
McCarron Wins Unitas Golden Arm
 -by  Dec 9, 2013
SI Take 3: OU never flinched
 -by  Dec 8, 2013
McCarron Finalist For Player Of Year
 -by  Dec 4, 2013

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook and a full year of 'BAMA Magazine with an Annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
QB A.J. McCarron (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Alabama
Football > St. Pauls Episcopal School > Alumni
[View My HotList]