Football Watch Lists Over For Now
T.J. Yeldon
T.J. Yeldon

Posted Jul 19, 2013

If you said that Johnny Manziel won the 2012 Walter Camp Award as the best player in college football, you would be wrong. Manziel won almost every other award for which he was eligible last season, including the Heisman, but the Texas A&M quarterback didn’t win the Walter Camp.

There is a cynicism about the Walter Camp Award, that it goes to the best college football player who does not win the Heisman, a competing award.

Unlike the Heisman, the Walter Camp joins some 15 other organizations that announce summer “watch lists” of potential winners of the awards those organizations will present in the post-season.

The Walter Camp watch list of 50 players includes four from Alabama, two seniors and two sophomores. Crimson Tide players on the list are senior quarterback A.J. McCarron, senior linebacker C.J. Mosley, sophomore tailback T.J. Yeldon, and sophomore wide receiver Amari Cooper.

Also announced in the wrap-up to watch list revelations were the 63 on the Doak Walker watch list to choose the nation’s best running back. Alabama soph T.J. Yeldon...has to love this list in which he is not last alphabetically. Yeldon gives props to Penn State RB Zach Swinak.

Also from the Southeastern Conference on the Walker list are Alfred Blue, LSU; Todd Gurley and Keith Marshall, both of Georgia; Matt Jones, Florida; Henry Josey, Missouri; Ben Malena, Texas A&M; Tre Mason, Auburn; LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State; and Kiero Small and Jonathan Williams, both of Arkansas;

The Walter Camp didn’t select Johnny Manziel after his incredible freshman season at Texas A&M, but Manziel is one of seven SEC players (in addition to the four from Bama) who are candidates for the Player of the Year Award in 2013.

The others are Jadeveon Clowney, defensive end from South Carolina; Jake Matthews, offensive tackle from Texas A&M; Todd Gurley, running back, and Aaron Murray, quarterback, both from Georgia; Jordan Matthews, wide receiver from Vanderbilt; and Tyler Russell, quarterback from Mississippi State.

The Walter Camp Award watch list is the last of 15 watch lists that have come out in the past two weeks. Mosley is on seven watch lists (including another player of the year award, the Maxwell Trophy), more than any other Alabama player.

Related Stories
Newberg's Take: Alabama Preview
 -by  Jul 19, 2013
SEC Media Days Rewind: Alabama
 -by  Jul 19, 2013
Other Thoughts From Nick Saban
 -by  Jul 18, 2013

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook and a full year of 'BAMA Magazine with an Annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Alabama
[View My HotList]