Yeldon Repeat Winner Of A-Day Honor
T.J. Yeldon
T.J. Yeldon

Posted Apr 20, 2013

For the second consecutive year, tailback T.J. Yeldon has been selected by the media as winner of the Dixie Howell Award as the most outstanding player in the A-Day Game.

T.J. Yeldon was something of a surprise selection in Alabama’s spring game a year ago, when he was a true freshman. After rushing for 1,000 yards in a back-up role last season, it was not such a surprise for the upcoming sophomore to be selected this year. Alabama was short on tailbacks Saturday and the quarterbacks were victimized by interceptions. Yeldon was the game’s leading rusher with 15 carries for 69 yards and scored the game-winning touchdown. He also had seven pass receptions for 60 yards.

Sports reporters also voted sophomore Ryan Kelly, center on the White team, as winner of the Dwight Stephenson Award as the most outstanding lineman in the A-Day Game.

Other awards were selected by the coaching staff on the basis of all 15 practices this spring. They are:

Lee Roy Jordan Headhunter Award – Christion Jones, Adrian Hubbard

Jerry Duncan “I Like to Practice” Award – Ryan Kelly, Brian Vogler, Vinnie Sunseri, Davlin Tomlinson

Billy Neighbors Defensive Lineman Award – Jeoffrey Pagan

Paul Crane Offensive Lineman Award – Cyrus Kouandjio

Bobby Johns Defensive Back Award – Deion Belue

Johnny Musso Offensive Back Award – T.J. Yeldon

Ray Perkins Receiver Award – Amari Cooper

Woodrow Lowe Linebacker Award – C.J. Mosley

Derrick Thomas Community Service Award –Kevin Norwood, Blake Sims

Bear Bryant Outstanding Non-Scholarship Award – Parker Barrineau, Zach Houston

Ozzie Newsome Most Improved Freshman Award – Derrick Henry, O.J. Howard, Kenyan Drake, Ryan Anderson, Landon Collins, Cyrus Jones

Bart Starr Most Improved Player Award – Austin Shepherd, Arie Kouandjio, DeAndrew White, Denzel Devall, Geno Smith, Trey DePriest

Mal Moore Leadership Award –Anthony Steen, Ed Stinson

Sylvester Croom Commitment to Excellence Award –A.J. McCarron, HaHa Clinton-Dix

Wide receiver DeAndrew White and tailback Dee Hart, who have been in black (non-contact) jerseys this spring, were in white jerseys Saturday.

Doyle Shaw, the father of Southeastern Conference Supervisor of Officials Steve Shaw, was operating the clock from the field. When Bama’s Landon Collins was knocked out of bounds as the end of an interception runback, Collins was knocked into shaw, who had to be taken off the field on an ambulance cart. He was taken to DCH Regional Medical Hospital and a post-game report said that he was doing well and would make a full recovery.

Alabama opened spring practice on Friday, March 15, and held 14 practices through Thursday, leading up to the A-Day game. The Crimson Tide also held two scrimmages in Bryant-Denny Stadium this spring (April 6 and April 13).

The annual Walk of Fame ceremony took place Saturday prior to the A-Day Game at Denny Chimes. The 2012 permanent team captains – offensive lineman Barrett Jones, defensive lineman Damion Square, and offensive lineman Chance Warmack– had their hand prints and foot prints placed in cement at the base of Denny Chimes.

Related Stories
Yeldon Was Great As No. 2 Tailback
 -by  Jun 12, 2013
VIDEO: Alabama Offensive Fall Preview
 -by  Jul 26, 2013
Cooper, Yeldon Typify Tide Plan
 -by  Jul 28, 2013

Get the 2014 Recruiting Yearbook and a full year of 'BAMA Magazine with an Annual Total Access Pass.
Sign Up Today!

Upgrade Now!
Free Email Newsletter
Don't miss any news or features from Subscribe to our newsletter to have our newest articles emailed to you on a daily or weekly basis.
Click here for a list of all Team Newsletters.

Add Players to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite players. Click name to add to My HotList.
RB T.J. Yeldon (profile)
[View My HotList]
Add Topics to My HotList
Get free email alerts with news about your favorite topics. Click link to add to My HotList.
Football > Alabama
Football > Daphne HS > Alumni
[View My HotList]